Expectations VS Reality

Letter Writing Activity

The letter writing activity, of all the activities that we have done so far, was definitely my favorite! There were many assignments which gave us a chance to add our personal touch to them, but this particular activity let me bring my core family into the context, which gave it a different spin.

Since the letter was based around college life, I got to jot down things I experience every day, but don’t really give much thought to. The expectations VS reality style of writing was really interesting.

One thing that I learnt from this experience is the advantage of going back to the basics; by this I mean using the style and techniques that writers used before the dawn of the personal computer. Before this activity, I can barely remember the last time I wrote a good old fashioned letter, let alone by hand. I felt that using a traditional format and writing with just pen and paper, while not always pragmatic, helped me think about the topic in a more formal way, leave less margin for editing and mistakes, and talk about the topic in a more logical way.

All in all, this particular exercise is something I think all college students should try in this technology-driven age, just to get a sense of what it was like to write to family back in a time when FaceTime required people to be present in the same room.

IMG_3154 IMG_3156 IMG_3158

Leave a Reply

